Making the Borderlands 3 Giant Character Statues!

108 184
9.2
Tested5.98M
Published on 25 Jun 2019, 14:00
At this year's E3, the Borderlands 3 booth stood out with six larger-than-life statues representing the games' characters at 1.5x scale. We met up with our old friend Frank Ippolito--whose team at Thingergy built these statues--to get a behind-the-scenes look at how these mixed-media figures were fabricated. From foam milling to clay sculpting, fabric patterning to silicone casting, here's how giant convention displays are made!

Shot by Gunther Kirsch and edited by Norman Chan
Additional video courtesy of Thingergy and AvidCNC

Subscribe for more videos! youtube.com/subscription_cente...
Follow us on Twitter: twitter.com/testedcom
Get updates on Facebook: facebook.com/testedcom

Tested is:
Adam Savage twitter.com/donttrythis
Norman Chan twitter.com/nchan
Simone Giertz twitter.com/simonegiertz
Joey Fameli joeyfameli.com
Gunther Kirsch guntherkirsch.com
Ryan Kiser instagram.com/ryan.kiser
Kishore Hari twitter.com/sciencequiche
Sean Charlesworth twitter.com/cworthdynamics
Jeremy Williams twitter.com/jerware
Kayte Sabicer twitter.com/kaytesabicer
Bill Doran twitter.com/chinbeard
Ariel Waldman twitter.com/arielwaldman
Darrell Maloney twitter.com/thebrokennerd83
Kristen Lomasney twitter.com/krystynlo

Intro bumper by Abe Dieckman
Set design by Danica Johnson twitter.com/saysdanica
Set build by Asa Hillis asahillis.com

Thanks for watching!
autotechmusickids