The FX History of the Dinosaur Input Device!

24 945
1.6%
Tested5.53M
Published on 22 Jun 2021, 14:00
Watch this episode in VR here: oculus.com/experiences/media/8...

Modelmaker and fabricator Sean Charlesworth shares a rare piece of special effects history: a Dinosaur Input Device (DID) made by the stop-motion animators at Tippett Studio to help in the animation of the first digital movie creatures. Here's how this unique device bridges the transition from physical animated puppets to the digitally rigged characters that appeared in groundbreaking effects films like Jurassic Park!

Read more about the history of the DiD here: vfxblog.com/dinosaurinputdevic...

Shot and edited by Gunther Kirsch

Join this channel to support Tested and get access to perks:
youtube.com/channel/UCiDJtJKMI...

Tested Ts, stickers, mugs and more: tested-store.com

Subscribe for more videos (and click the bell for notifications): youtube.com/subscription_cente...
Twitter: twitter.com/testedcom
Facebook: facebook.com/testedcom
Instagram: instagram.com/testedcom
Discord: discord.gg/tested
Amazon Storefront: amazon.com/shop/adamsavagestes...
Savage Industries T-shirts: cottonbureau.com/stores/savage...

Tested is:
Adam Savage twitter.com/donttrythis
Norman Chan twitter.com/nchan
Joey Fameli joeyfameli.com
Gunther Kirsch guntherkirsch.com
Ryan Kiser instagram.com/ryan.kiser
Jen Schachter jenschachter.com
Kishore Hari twitter.com/sciencequiche
Sean Charlesworth twitter.com/cworthdynamics
Jeremy Williams twitter.com/jerware
Kayte Sabicer instagram.com/kaytesabicer
Bill Doran twitter.com/chinbeard
Ariel Waldman youtube.com/arielwaldman
Darrell Maloney youtube.com/brokennerd
Kristen Lomasney twitter.com/krystynlo

Intro bumper by Abe Dieckman

Thanks for watching!

#JurassicPark #SpecialEffects #TippetStudio
newsautotechmusickids