Lifelike Animatronic Facehugger Practical Effects Puppet!

54 629
8.6
Tested5.96M
Published on 8 Sep 2022, 14:00
We meet effects artist Jesse Velez of Raptor House Effects, whose team created this animatronic Alien Facehugger for the 40th anniversary theatrical re-release of Alien back in 2018. Engineered from 14 servo motors that drive mechanical linkages along each "finger", this creature creeps alive with three remote control operators puppeting its mesmerizing movements. Jesse gives us a demo of this practical creature effect at SiliCon!

To see videos of the mechanical understructure in action, visit raptorhousefx.com and click on REELS.
Design Lead, Sculpt, Skin, and Paint by Jesse Velez: instagram.com/raptorhousefx
Mechanical Design by Cameron Boyce
Raptor House FX: instagram.com/raptorhousefx
Thanks to Mike of PropsToHistory for the puppeting assist! tiktok.com/@propstohistory

Shot by Josh Self and edited by Norman Chan
Music by Jinglepunks

Join this channel to support Tested and get access to perks:
youtube.com/channel/UCiDJtJKMI...

Tested Ts, stickers, mugs and more: tested-store.com

Subscribe for more videos (and click the bell for notifications): youtube.com/subscription_cente...
Twitter: twitter.com/testedcom
Facebook: facebook.com/testedcom
Instagram: instagram.com/testedcom
Discord: discord.gg/tested
Amazon Storefront: amazon.com/shop/adamsavagestes...
Savage Industries T-shirts: cottonbureau.com/stores/savage...

Tested is:
Adam Savage twitter.com/donttrythis
Norman Chan twitter.com/nchan
Joey Fameli joeyfameli.com
Ryan Kiser instagram.com/ryan.kiser
Josh Self twitter.com/puppetflesh
Kristen Lomasney twitter.com/krystynlo
Jen Schachter jenschachter.com
Kishore Hari twitter.com/sciencequiche
Sean Charlesworth twitter.com/cworthdynamics
Kayte Sabicer instagram.com/kaytesabicer
Bill Doran twitter.com/chinbeard
Ariel Waldman youtube.com/arielwaldman
Darrell Maloney youtube.com/brokennerd

Intro bumper by Abe Dieckman

Thanks for watching!
autotechmusickids