Tory leadership race intensifies as 10 out of 11 MPs reach first ballot | ITV News

2 114
Published on 10 Jun 2019, 21:46
Ten contenders in the Tory leadership race have reached the first round of voting by MPs, with only one candidate failing to gain sufficient support.

The candidates, announced by joint acting chairman of the backbench 1922 Committee Dame Cheryl Gillan, were: Boris Johnson, Jeremy Hunt, Michael Gove, Sajid Javid, Rory Stewart, Dominic Raab, Matt Hancock, Andrea Leadsom, Esther McVey and Mark Harper.

Outsider Sam Gyimah, the only contender open to a second referendum - -pulled out the race just before the deadline, citing a lack of backers and lack of time to "build sufficient support".

The MPs - who each had the backing at least eight of their colleagues - will need at least 17 votes to get through the first ballot on Thursday - while the candidate with the lowest votes will be eliminated.

Read more:

• Subscribe to ITV News on YouTube:
• Get breaking news and more stories at

Follow ITV News on Facebook:
Follow ITV News on Twitter:
Follow ITV News on Instagram: