Arthur Ross Book Award: "These Truths–A History of the United States"

Published on 14 Jan 2020, 17:22
Presider Gideon Rose celebrates the winners of this year’s Arthur Ross Book Award: Jill Lepore, Andrew Roberts, and Max Hastings. Gold medalist Jill Lepore discusses why the United States needs a national history.

Gold Medal: Jill Lepore for These Truths: A History of the United States

Silver Medal: Andrew Roberts for Churchill: Walking With Destiny

Bronze Medal: Max Hastings for Vietnam: An Epic Tragedy, 1945–1975

Jill Lepore
David Woods Kemper ‘41 Professor of American History, Harvard University; Staff Writer, New Yorker; Author, These Truths: A History of the United States; 2019 Arthur Ross Book Award Gold Medalist

Gideon Rose
Peter G. Peterson Chair and Editor, Foreign Affairs; Chair, Arthur Ross Book Award Jury

Subscribe to our channel:

The Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher.

Visit the CFR website:
Follow CFR on Twitter:
Follow CFR on Facebook: