Several states move to limit the teaching of critical race theory in schools

2 827
Published on 22 Jun 2021, 23:37
More than 20 states have introduced legislation that would limit teaching critical race theory in their public schools. Five states have already moved to ban educators from teaching it, including Florida and Tennessee. Russell Contreras, who covers race and justice for Axios, joins CBSN's "Red & Blue" host Elaine Quijano to discuss why the teaching concept has become so divisive.

CBSN is CBS News’ 24/7 digital streaming news service featuring live, anchored coverage available for free across all platforms. Launched in November 2014, the service is a premier destination for breaking news and original storytelling from the deep bench of CBS News correspondents and reporters. CBSN features the top stories of the day as well as deep dives into key issues facing the nation and the world. CBSN has also expanded to launch local news streaming services in major markets across the country. CBSN is currently available on and the CBS News app across more than 20 platforms, as well as the Paramount+ subscription service.

Subscribe to the CBS News YouTube channel:​
Watch CBSN live:​
Download the CBS News app:​
Follow CBS News on Instagram:​
Like CBS News on Facebook:​
Follow CBS News on Twitter:​
Subscribe to our newsletters:​
Try Paramount+ free:

For video licensing inquiries, contact: